Recommend Us | About Us | Back to

News | Financial Calculator | Home Financing | Archived News |


  Welcome to Bernama Banking & Finance Special Page     
Terengganu MB Announces Exco Portfolios
Last update: 09/04/2008

KUALA TERENGGANU, April 9 (Bernama) -- Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said announced the portfolios of the members of the new state executive council which held its maiden meeting here Wednesday.

The 10 members of the council, seven of them new faces, had taken their oath of office Wednesday morning before the Regent of Terengganu, Tengku Muhammad Ismail Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, at the Istana Maziah here.

Ahmad himself is the chairman of four portfolios: Planning; Financial and Investment; Land, Petroleum and Natural Resources; and Local Government and Housing, a portfolio he had held in the previous assembly.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting, at Wisma Darul Iman here, Ahmad said he had appointed Ramlan Ali (state assemblyman for Jabi) Rosli Othman (Kemasik) as the deputy chairmen of the Local Government and Housing Committee.

The 10 other portfolios and their chairmen and deputy chairmen are as follows:

1. Education, Higher Education, Science, Technology and Human Resources -

Chairman: Ahmad Razif Abdul Rahman (Seberang Takir)

Deputy Chairman: Mohd Zawawi Ismail (Kuala Berang)

2. Infrastructure Development and Public Amenities -

Chairman: Yahaya Khatib Mohamad (Pengkalan Berangan)

Deputy Chairman: Zakaria alias Mohd Ariffin Abdullah (Paka)

3. Youth and Sports -

Chairman: Datuk Abdul Rahin Mohd Said (Teluk Pasu)

Deputy Chairman: Alias Abdullah (Alor Limbat)

4. Rural, Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development -

Chairman: Datuk Mohamed Awang Tera (Chukai)

Deputy Chairman: Datuk Rosol Wahid (Ajil)

5. Welfare, Community Development and Women -

Chairman: Ashaari Idris (Langkap)

Deputy Chairman: Nawi Mohamad (Hulu Besut)

6. Industrial, Trade and Environment -

Chairman: Toh Chin Yaw (Bandar)

Deputy Chairman: Abdul Halim Jusoh (Permaisuri)

7. Tourism, Culture, Arts and Heritage -

Chairman: Datuk Zaabar Mohd Adib (Rantau Abang)

Deputy Chairman: Wan Abdul Hakim Wan Mokhtar (Air Putih)

8. Religion and Information -

Chairman: Khazan Che Mat (Batu Rakit)

Deputy Chairman: Muhammad Ramli Nuh (Tepuh)

9. Agriculture and Agro-based Industry -

Chairman: Rozi Mamat (Telemong)

Deputy Chairman: Muhammad Pehimi Yusof (Kota Putera)

10. Health, Unity and Consumer Affairs -

Chairman: Dr Abdul Rahman Mokhtar (Kuala Besut)

Deputy Chairman: Datuk Din Adam (Bukit Besi)

Ahmad said he had asked the councillors to work as a team and provide excellent service to the people.

"It is important that we determine the direction and development of Terengganu and the people of Terengganu," he said.

Ahmad said the state government would make available excellent educational opportunities for the people besides eradicating poverty and providing employment opportunities.

He also said that the councillors had been asked to give up posts of chairmen of state government subsidiaries so that they could focus their attention on their duties as councillors.

Ahmad said he and all the state executive councillors would have an audience with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, at Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur on Monday. Tuanku Mizan is the Sultan of Terengganu.

Ahmad also said that the first meeting of the state legislative assembly would be held from May 5 to 8.